PledgeBank is now closed to new submissions. The site is available as an archive for you to browse, but you can no longer create or sign pledges. Find out more…

United States
I’ll do it, but only if you’ll help

Pledge “opense”

"I will release a fully open source replacement firmware for the ZX Spectrum but only if 100 people will donate £10 (or more) each to the Red Cross Japan Tsunami Appeal."

— Andrew Owen

Deadline to sign up by: 1st July 2011
105 people signed up (5 over target)

More details
Many retro hardware enthusiasts enjoy building clones of the ZX Spectrum (8-bit computer), but using the original firmware (ROM) in these machines is illegal. An open source replacement firmware will allow enthusiasts to pursue their hobby without infringing copyright, and enable them to sell fully assembled units to other enthusiasts.

Please donate now. I will release the software when the total number of people who have donated reaches 100.

This pledge has now closed; it was successful!

See more pledges, and all about how PledgeBank works.

Things to do with this pledge

RSS feed of comments on this pledge

Comments on this pledge

  • In the UK you can donate online here:
    Andrew Owen, 10 years ago. Abusive? Report it!
  • I have registered the project with SourceForge and uploaded the ZX81 and SAM Coupe source code, plus the OpenSE BASIC definitions file.

    I have finished writing the code and it is now undergoing beta testing.
    Andrew Owen, 10 years ago. Abusive? Report it!
  • I've written the quick reference guide.

    Now we just need the remaining signatures and I can release the binary and source.
    Andrew Owen, 10 years ago. Abusive? Report it!
  • Beta testing is complete and the code is ready for release. However, I'm moving the source over to GNU binutils for easy compilation on multiple platforms.
    Andrew Owen, 10 years ago. Abusive? Report it!
  • Successfully moved the code over to GNIU binutils with a little help from Chris Smith in the form of a Makefile and a link script. Have uploaded everything except the main source now.
    Andrew Owen, 10 years ago. Abusive? Report it!
  • I have made a minor modification to the code so that the palette file is copied from the ROM to the palette buffer after the attributes. The ERASE command now resets the contents of the palette registers with the data held in the buffer. This is handy when dealing with ULAplus format screens (which contain 6144 bitmap bytes, followed by 768 attribute bytes, followed by 64 palette bytes).
    Andrew Owen, 10 years ago. Abusive? Report it!
  • Thanks to everyone who donated. The source and binary are now available. There will be an official release when the file is finalized, but that could be some time off. No code changes though ... just don't write any software that depends on the current palette.
This pledge is closed for new comments.

Current signatories (Green text = they've done it)

Andrew Owen, the Pledge Creator, joined by:

  • Andreas Schieck (Mad Fritz)
  • Patrick Furlong
  • Chris Walsh (BloodBaz)
  • Ruth Berry
  • Pete
  • BiNMaN
  • El ZnorXorino
  • Nat C
  • Polo Mint
  • Matt_B
  • Adam Colley
  • Christopher Blackmon
  • Karl McNeil (KgMcNeil)
  • ewgf
  • Patrik Rak
  • Amy Madsen
  • Vadim Sabirzhanov
  • Andy Herbert
  • Chris Smith
  • Andrew Stephen
  • Lionel Lemarie
  • autoexec.bat
  • Macc
  • toadstool
  • Javier Peña (utopian)
  • dzwomble
  • Bruno Florindo
  • Richard Chandler
  • Mark Boyd
  • djoni
  • Dylan SMith
  • Scottie_UK
  • jack Boatwright
  • Jose Rodriguez
  • Andy Roberts
  • Kevin Roast
  • Hernán Pablo Alvarez
  • david batty
  • Cignale
  • deadpan666
  • MrCheese
  • Stuart Brady
  • psj3809
  • Anthony Motyka
  • big_plums
  • Dmitry Maltcev
  • Steve Anderson
  • AndyC
  • ds99
  • Mark Morton
  • Matt Westcott
  • Danforth
  • Robert Ayres
  • Karen Hiles
  • Simon Huggins
  • Paddy Coleman
  • Simon J
  • ^m00h^
  • graeme caie
  • Paul Dunn
  • Hercules
  • Philip Kendall
  • Emiliana Deluca
  • Steven Brown
  • Phil Temple
  • Matthew Wilson
  • Dave Philpott
  • Richard Wheeldon
  • Alberto Garcia
  • Luis Souto
  • Phil Taylor
  • Paul Till
  • Arjun Nair
  • Steve Arnold
  • A.Erdikmen
  • jp
  • J.G.Harston
  • Mirko Seidel (Mic)
  • Jaime Tejedor (Metalbrain)
  • Sergio Baldoví
  • Bruno Florindo (repeat donation)
  • Tim Hingley
  • sha
  • Lee Fogarty
  • Chris Born (crisis)
  • Daren
  • Combiseries
  • Franco Bronda
  • 16 people who did not want to give their names, 13 of whom have done the pledge

View signup rate graph